Westland High School is a member of the Ohio High School Athletic Association.  The OHSAA is a non-profit organization whose primary purpose is to supervise and administer interscholastic athletic competition among its member schools to the end that the interscholastic program should become an integral part of the total educational program of the school.  To that end, the OHSAA through its Commissioners and the State Athletic Board of Control develops rules and guidelines within which to operate and serve the many youths of the state of Ohio.  As a member, Westland High School agrees to abide by and cooperate with all rules and regulations of the OHSAA.

Westland High School is one of 32 schools in the Ohio Capital Conference and as members, we agree to abide by the rules and regulations of the conference.  It has as its primary purpose to promote clean, wholesome athletics, good citizenship and good sportsmanship, and foster competitive rivalries through an effective league organization within a workable set of rules and regulations which work to insure a strong and effective athletic conference.

There are five divisions within the OCC -- the Ohio, Central, Cardinal, Capital and Buckeye Divisions. Below is an outline of how the divisions are currently aligned:

Ohio Division Capital Division Central Division Cardinal Division Buckeye Division
Gahanna Lincoln Big Walnut Central Crossing Delaware Hayes Olentangy
Grove City Canal Winchester Dublin Coffman Dublin Jerome Olentangy Liberty
Lancaster Franklin Heights Hilliard Davidson Dublin Scioto Olentangy Orange
Pickerington Central Groveport Marysville Hilliard Bradley Westerville Central
Pickerington North New Albany Upper Arlington Hilliard Darby Westerville North
Reynoldsburg Newark Westland Olentangy BerlinWesterville South
Thomas Worthington
Worthington Kilbourne